• Name

    svn delete – Delete an item from a working copy or the repository.


    svn delete PATH…
    svn delete URL…


    Items specified by PATH are scheduled for deletion upon the next commit. Files (and directories that have not been committed) are immediately removed from the working copy. The command will not remove any unversioned or modified items; use the --force option to override this behavior.

    Items specified by URL are deleted from the repository via an immediate commit. Multiple URLs are committed atomically.

    Alternate Names

    del, remove, rm


    Working copy if operating on files, repository if operating on URLs

    Accesses Repository

    Only if operating on URLs


    --message (-m) TEXT
    --file (-F) FILE
    --quiet (-q)
    --targets FILENAME
    --username USER
    --password PASS
    --editor-cmd EDITOR
    --encoding ENC
    --config-dir DIR


    Using svn to delete a file from your working copy deletes your local copy of the file, but merely schedules it to be deleted from the repository. When you commit, the file is deleted in the repository.

    $ svn delete myfile
    D         myfile
    $ svn commit -m "Deleted file 'myfile'."
    Deleting       myfile
    Transmitting file data .
    Committed revision 14.

    Deleting a URL, however, is immediate, so you have to supply a log message:

    $ svn delete -m "Deleting file 'yourfile'" file:///tmp/repos/test/yourfile
    Committed revision 15.

    Here's an example of how to force deletion of a file that has local mods:

    $ svn delete over-there 
    svn: Attempting restricted operation for modified resource
    svn: Use --force to override this restriction
    svn: 'over-there' has local modifications
    $ svn delete --force over-there 
    D         over-there

    The Version Control with Subversion book is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution License v2.0.
    To submit comments, corrections, or other contributions to the text, please visit http://www.svnbook.com.